The Nobel Prize in Chemistry Awarded for Lithium-ion Battery Development


The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019

John B Goodenough, M Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino have been awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the development of lithium-ion batteries. 97 years old, John B. Goodenough became the oldest person to win a Nobel Prize.

All three Nobel Prize winners will share the prize money of 9 million Swedish kronor ($906,000). It will be provided by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

Early a century, Lead-acid batteries had been in use. Nowadays, modern lithium-ion batteries are used in smartphones, laptops, UPS, electric vehicles, solar power, aerospace, and other portable electronic devices. The lithium-ion battery is a rechargeable, lightweight and powerful battery. The development of lithium-ion batteries boosts and brings a technological revolution in the mobile phone and electric cars industry.

During the oil crisis in the 1970s, it was invented to create a fossil-fuel-free society.

Basic knowledge about all three Nobel Prize Winners

John B. Goodenough awarded this year’s Chemistry The prize, was born in 1922 in Jena, Germany. He is the Cockrell Chair in Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin.

M. Stanley Whittingham was born in 1941 in the UK. He is a Distinguished Professor at Binghamton University, State University of New York.

2019 Chemistry Nobel Prize winner Akira Yoshino was born in 1948 in Suita, Japan. He is a professor at Meijo University, Nagoya, Japan and an Honorary Fellow at Asahi Kasei Corporation, Tokyo, Japan.

Announcement of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *